New information following the change in COVID-19 alert levels.

The University Council

Massey University’s governing body is called the University Council. Council members include lay, academic and student members who are responsible for overseeing the management and control of the affairs, concerns and property of the University. Its Chair, and ceremonial head of the University, is the Chancellor, elected by Council from within its ranks.

On this page:

Find out about the Academic Board and Committees.

Schedule of Council meetings

Download or print a copy of the Council and Committee meeting schedule for 2020, including dates for graduation, from the link below.

Council and Committee meeting schedule, including graduation dates (146 KB)

Arrow Back to top

Council meeting papers

Council meeting papers are available for download or print in PDF format.

Parties may request copies of documents as per the Official Information Act 1982 and Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 by contacting the Governance Advisor, Office of Governance and Assurance. A small charge for photocopying may apply.

  Arrow Back to top

University Council members


Pro Chancellor

  • ·     Mr Ben Vanderkolk LLB Cant


  • Professor Jan Thomas BSc Murd., BVMS Murd., MVS Melb., PhD Murd., MACVs, FAICD, FAIM

Members appointed by the Minister of Education

  • Mr Michael Ahie BBS (Hons)
  • Mr Colin Harvey ONZM BAgSc, BCC Auck 
  • Ms Oriana Paewai
  • Mr Ben Vanderkolk LLB Cant

Elected permanent member of academic staff 

  • ·     Professor Sarah Leberman, BA (Cambridge) UK, MA (Applied), PhD (VUW)

Elected permanent member of professional staff

  • ·     Nigel Barker BBS, CertATchg, Grad IFE

Member elected by Massey University students

  • Ms Ngahuia Kirton

Members appointed by Council on nomination of Vice-Chancellor

  • Mr Alistair Davis LLB BCA
  • Traci Houpapa MNZM MBA (Massey)
  • Mr Ian Marshall BCom (Natal) CAANZ
  • Ms Tina Wilson BBS, BA (Māori Representative)

Arrow Back to top

Massey University Council Constitution 2015

The Constitution of Massey University Council Notice 2015 was approved by the Minister of Tertiary Education and gazetted on 6 August 2015.

Arrow Back to top

Council News

New appointments to Massey University Council boosts Maori representation
Thursday 9 April 2020
Massey University Council has announced two new members, Traci Houpapa and Oriana Paewai.
Michael Ahie elected Massey University Chancellor
Friday 16 December 2016
Massey University's new Chancellor is Michael Ahie, following an election conducted by members of the Massey University Council yesterday.

Contact us Mon - Fri 8:30am to 4:30pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey